Ten of Swords

The Ten of Swords is a card of endings, pain, and loss. It depicts a flower shaped mystical formation with a swirling vortex below. This card often represents a sudden and traumatic event that has caused immense pain and suffering. However, it also suggests that the worst is over, and there is nowhere to go but up from this point.

Featured deck: Cosmica Somnis Tarot

Sometimes it takes hitting rock bottom to have the strength to rise up and start anew.


The Ten of Swords in the upright position indicates a painful ending or a significant loss. You may have been betrayed, hurt, or experienced a painful ending to a situation or relationship. This card represents the finality of a situation and the pain that comes with it. However, it also indicates that the worst is over, and the healing process can begin. It is a reminder to let go of the past and move forward. Use this experience as an opportunity to grow and learn from the situation.

The Ten of Swords in the upright position can also indicate hitting rock bottom. This card is a wake-up call to let go of self-destructive behaviors, negative thoughts, and emotions that are holding you back. You may feel defeated, but this card suggests that it is time to start over and rebuild. Focus on self-care, positive affirmations, and healthy habits.


The Ten of Swords in the reversed position suggests that you are ready to move on from the pain and suffering of the past. You may be finding closure or acceptance, allowing you to start the healing process. This card represents a new beginning, letting go of the past, and moving forward with newfound hope and strength.

The Ten of Swords in the reversed position can also indicate a refusal to accept an ending or a situation. You may be holding onto the pain and refusing to let go, causing yourself unnecessary suffering. This card suggests that it is time to accept the situation, forgive those involved, and move forward. It is a reminder that the pain is temporary, and it is up to you to decide when to let it go.

Illustration and Text Copyright © Shores Of Moon

Order the NEW Guidebook!


Unlock the mystical world of tarot with this comprehensive companion book that will guide you through every aspect of tarot reading. Immerse yourself in the rich history and astrological connections of tarot while mastering card meanings and tarot spreads. Packed with invaluable tips and information, this guide will transform you into a skilled tarot reader.


    Also called: batons, staves, clubs, or rods

    Element: Fire

    Astrological signs: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius

    They symbolize: will, action, desire, ambition, masculine energy


    Also called: chalices, goblets, or vessels

    Element: Water

    Astrological signs:Pisces, Cancer, Scorpio

    They symbolize: emotions, feelings, the subconscious, intuition


    Also called: blades, daggers, or spades

    Element: Air

    Astrological signs: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius

    They symbolize: thoughts, intellect, communication, mental processes


    Also called: coins, disks, or rings

    Element: Earth

    Astrological signs: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn

    They symbolize: foundations, the material and physical realm.

  • Luna Somnia Tarot Deck

    The bestselling original ⟡ This beautifully illustrated tarot deck and guidebook set is a perfect way to learn tarot or hone your skill if you are an advanced reader.

  • Cosmica Somnis Tarot Deck

    The gold gilded deck ⟡ Shimmering gold gilded edges and intricate illustrations make these cards extra special. This set comes with a guidebook to help interpret the cards with ease.

  • Two Decks Bundle

    Luna Somnia Tarot + Cosmica Somnis Tarot collectible set. Complete with guidebooks and gift boxes for each deck.