Nine of Swords

The Nine of Swords is a card that represents anxiety, fear, and worry. It is a card of sleepless nights and negative thoughts. It depicts a woman's face with closed eyes, clouds and smoke forming from the amphora below her, indicating the mental torment that she is experiencing. The swords hanging around her symbolize her thoughts and worries that seem to be overwhelming her.

Featured deck: Cosmica Somnis Tarot

The darkness of the night can feel suffocating, but remember that the sun always rises, and with it, a new day and a fresh start.


The Nine of Swords in the upright position suggests that you may be experiencing extreme anxiety, fear, or guilt. You may be feeling overwhelmed by your negative thoughts and emotions, making it hard to sleep or focus on anything else. It is essential to acknowledge and confront these feelings to overcome them. The card is a reminder that it is okay to seek help from others, whether it be a friend, a therapist, or a loved one. Remember that you are not alone in your struggles.

The Nine of Swords can also indicate that you are in a situation where you feel helpless and powerless. You may be experiencing a nightmare or a traumatic event that is causing you immense distress. It is important to take care of yourself during this time and seek support from those around you. Remember that this too shall pass, and there are always opportunities to heal and recover.


The Nine of Swords in the reversed position suggests that you are beginning to come to terms with your fears and anxieties. You are learning to confront and overcome your negative thoughts, and you may be seeing progress towards a more positive mindset. You may also be finding ways to cope with your worries, such as meditation or therapy. The card is a sign of hope and progress towards a brighter future.

The Nine of Swords reversed can also suggest that you are in a state of denial or avoidance. You may be refusing to confront your fears or seeking help from others. It is crucial to acknowledge your struggles and take action to overcome them. Ignoring your emotions will only prolong your suffering and prevent you from moving forward. Remember that it is okay to ask for help, and there is no shame in seeking support.

Illustration and Text Copyright © Shores Of Moon

Order the NEW Guidebook!


Unlock the mystical world of tarot with this comprehensive companion book that will guide you through every aspect of tarot reading. Immerse yourself in the rich history and astrological connections of tarot while mastering card meanings and tarot spreads. Packed with invaluable tips and information, this guide will transform you into a skilled tarot reader.


    Also called: batons, staves, clubs, or rods

    Element: Fire

    Astrological signs: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius

    They symbolize: will, action, desire, ambition, masculine energy


    Also called: chalices, goblets, or vessels

    Element: Water

    Astrological signs:Pisces, Cancer, Scorpio

    They symbolize: emotions, feelings, the subconscious, intuition


    Also called: blades, daggers, or spades

    Element: Air

    Astrological signs: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius

    They symbolize: thoughts, intellect, communication, mental processes


    Also called: coins, disks, or rings

    Element: Earth

    Astrological signs: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn

    They symbolize: foundations, the material and physical realm.

  • Luna Somnia Tarot Deck

    The bestselling original ⟡ This beautifully illustrated tarot deck and guidebook set is a perfect way to learn tarot or hone your skill if you are an advanced reader.

  • Cosmica Somnis Tarot Deck

    The gold gilded deck ⟡ Shimmering gold gilded edges and intricate illustrations make these cards extra special. This set comes with a guidebook to help interpret the cards with ease.

  • Two Decks Bundle

    Luna Somnia Tarot + Cosmica Somnis Tarot collectible set. Complete with guidebooks and gift boxes for each deck.