Eight of Swords

The Eight of Swords is a card of feeling trapped and restricted, unable to move forward or escape a difficult situation. It often indicates a mental or emotional state of feeling powerless or victimized.

Featured deck: Cosmica Somnis Tarot

Fear can be a powerful prison, but with a shift in perspective, you can break free and find your way to liberation.


In the upright position, the Eight of Swords suggests a feeling of being stuck, either mentally or physically. You may feel trapped in a difficult situation with no clear way out, or you may be experiencing self-imposed limitations that are preventing you from making progress. This card can also indicate a need to break free from negative thought patterns or limiting beliefs.

Another interpretation of the Eight of Swords in the upright position is that it represents a need for increased self-awareness and mindfulness. The card may be urging you to become more attuned to your thoughts and emotions, and to pay attention to the ways in which you may be contributing to your own feelings of being trapped or restricted.


In the reversed position, the Eight of Swords suggests that you may be starting to see a way out of a difficult situation. You may be gaining clarity and perspective, or beginning to understand that your limitations are largely self-imposed. This card can also indicate a willingness to confront your fears and take action to move forward.

Another interpretation of the Eight of Swords in the reversed position is that it represents a sense of liberation and newfound freedom. You may be breaking free from negative thought patterns, limiting beliefs, or an oppressive situation. This card can also indicate a desire to take risks and embrace change in your life, even if it means stepping out of your comfort zone.

Illustration and Text Copyright © Shores Of Moon

Order the NEW Guidebook!


Unlock the mystical world of tarot with this comprehensive companion book that will guide you through every aspect of tarot reading. Immerse yourself in the rich history and astrological connections of tarot while mastering card meanings and tarot spreads. Packed with invaluable tips and information, this guide will transform you into a skilled tarot reader.


    Also called: batons, staves, clubs, or rods

    Element: Fire

    Astrological signs: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius

    They symbolize: will, action, desire, ambition, masculine energy


    Also called: chalices, goblets, or vessels

    Element: Water

    Astrological signs:Pisces, Cancer, Scorpio

    They symbolize: emotions, feelings, the subconscious, intuition


    Also called: blades, daggers, or spades

    Element: Air

    Astrological signs: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius

    They symbolize: thoughts, intellect, communication, mental processes


    Also called: coins, disks, or rings

    Element: Earth

    Astrological signs: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn

    They symbolize: foundations, the material and physical realm.

  • Luna Somnia Tarot Deck

    The bestselling original ⟡ This beautifully illustrated tarot deck and guidebook set is a perfect way to learn tarot or hone your skill if you are an advanced reader.

  • Cosmica Somnis Tarot Deck

    The gold gilded deck ⟡ Shimmering gold gilded edges and intricate illustrations make these cards extra special. This set comes with a guidebook to help interpret the cards with ease.

  • Two Decks Bundle

    Luna Somnia Tarot + Cosmica Somnis Tarot collectible set. Complete with guidebooks and gift boxes for each deck.